Five regions of New York to enter Phase 3 on Friday

Top Stories

ALBANY, N.Y. (WETM) — As part of Thursday’s coronavirus briefing, Gov. Andrew Cuomo confirmed that five regions will enter phase three of the reopening process on Friday: Central New York, the Mohawk Valley, the North Country, the Southern Tier, and the Finger Lakes.

Cuomo slide on phase three
Cuomo slide on phase 3 reopenings

That’s most of New York’s geography, covering 35 of its 62 counties, including Fulton, Montgomery, and Schoharie Counties in the Mohawk Valley.

Cuomo’s office says that New York’s expert team of international public health advisors has cleared all five regions to enter phase three after a thorough review of the data.

Phase 3 affects non-essential businesses like restaurants and food services, as well as the personal care industry.

The guideline for restaurants and food services says they “may open indoor spaces with seating for customers” so long as they maintain distancing, equipment, cleaning, and screening requirements.

The guidelines also say that personal care industries affected by phase 3 include “non-hair-related” establishments like tattoo and piercing shops, massage therapists, cosmetologists, spas, nail salons, and tanning and waxing facilities.

County-by-county Coronavirus Tracker
COVID-19 Resources
More Coronavirus Coverage from News10
Updates from schools on COVID cases


Follow NEWS10

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download our news app

App Store Link
Google Play Link

Click Below to set up your cable box

Coronavirus Outbreak

More Coronavirus Outbreak

Classroom Progress Report

More Classroom Progress Report