Class A announces football all stars


Sport Highlights

Albany, N.Y. (NEWS10) — Class A football announced their all-area all-stars in the Capital and Grasso divisions Friday night. Troy went three for four in the players of the year category.

Senior quarterback Alex Wolfe was named Player of the Year. Running back Xavier Leigh took home Offensive Player of the Year honors, and linebacker Jaylen Riggins was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Mohonasen’s Jake Deguire kept Troy from the sweep, being named All Purpose Player of the Year.

The full list of first and second team honors for Class A can be found here:

Capital Division

First Team Offensive Line: Tyler Spink (Averill Park), Nick Marchese (Averill Park), DeAndre Butler (Troy), Robert Gapp (Troy), Alex Simon (Amsterdam), Aidan Corrigan (Columbia) Second Team Offensive Line: Dominick Paradise (Averill Park), Yaziel Lind (Troy), Gavin Crosby (La Salle), Ricardo Correa (Troy), Mason Sarabia (Amsterdam)

First Team Tight End: Angelo Cioffi (Columbia) Second Team Tight End: Toby Geddis (La Salle)

First Team Wide Receiver: Nasir Dawud-Soto (Troy), Brady Fenton (La Salle), David Romer (Columbia), Josiah Newborn (Amsterdam) Second Team Wide Receiver: Xavier Ward (Troy), Louie Gonzalez (Amsterdam), Derek Ouimette (Columbia)

First Team Running Back: Dan McShane (Averill Park), Bo Catherwood (La Salle), Michael Bennett (Columbia) Second Team Running Back: Garrett McHeard (Amsterdam)

First Team Quarterback: Eddie Yamin (La Salle) Second Team Quarterback: Gabe Peace (Columbia)

First Team Punter: Aiden Laurange (Columbia) Second Team Punter: Muiz Beyewu (Albany), Jared Michaud (La Salle)

First Team Kicker: Pip Ryan (Troy) Second Team Kicker: Kaleb Rock (La Salle)

First Team Defensive Line: Jaeshaun Brown (Troy), Blessing Jackson (La Salle), Christian Robinson (Amsterdam) Second Team Defensive Line: Dathan King (Troy), Hunter Spitanly (La Salle), Sean Paul Charland (Columbia), Henry Perkins (Albany)

First Team Defensive End: Nick Clemenzi (Averill Park), Dan Amasha (La Salle) Second Team Defensive End: Kevin Bryant (Averill Park), DJ Antoine (La Salle), James Shatas (Amsterdam)

First Team Inside Linebacker: Olin Wagner (Averill Park), Tyrell Penalba (Troy), Ed McDonough (La Salle) Second Team Inside Linebacker: JJ Thompson (La Salle), Alejandro Christopher (Amsterdam), Jason Harrison (Albany), Charles Lipscomb II (Albany)

First Team Outside Linebacker: Avvon Smith (Troy), Ryan Lefevre (Troy) Second Team Outside Linebacker: Luke Guzek (Columbia)

First Team Defensive Back: Ben Ferlito (Averill Park), Elias Daniels (Troy), Nassir Young (La Salle), Damani Canty (La Salle), Xavier Acevedo (Amsterdam) Second Team Defensive Back: James Mooney (Averill Park), Nick Tobin (La Salle), Tanner Malone (Columbia), Tyrell Douglas (Amsterdam), Prine Rukundo (Albany)

All Purpose First Team: Gavin Giordano (Averill Park) All Purpose Second Team: Michael Wiltshire (Troy), Matthew Hughes (Amsterdam)

Grasso Division

First Team Offensive Line: Elisha Rogers (Mohonasen), Victor Little (Burnt Hills), Holden Comley (Burnt Hills), Brandon Stedry (Ballston Spa), Zach Cunningham (Queensbury) Second Team Offensive Line: Austin Priddle (Niskayuna), Jared Park (Mohonasen), Matt Pinkerton (Burnt Hills), Aiden Knapik (Burnt Hills), Josh Faughnan (Queensbury)

First Team Tight End: Antonio Cianfarani (Scotia), Second Team Tight End: Jared Hawkins (Mohonasen)

First Team Wide Receiver: Leo O’Brien (Niskayuna), Tyler Borwhat (Niskayuna), Alex Gannon (Mohonasen) Second Team Wide Receiver: Rocco Mareno (Burnt Hills), Owen Walsh (Ballston Spa)

First Team Running Back: Michael Frattarola (Burnt Hills), Jason Rodriguez (Queensbury), Jovie Acacio (Ballston Spa) Second Team Running Back: Jaleel Joseph (Burnt Hills), Michael Puglisi (Burnt Hills), Kolby Anderson (Queensbury)

First Team Quarterback: Caeden Lapietro (Burnt Hills) Second Team Quarterback: Andrew Kramer (Ballston Spa)

First Team Kicker: Michael Sbuttoni (Burnt Hills) Second Team Kicker: Aidan Pendergast (Niskayuna)

First Team Punter: Kyle Schendler (Mohonasen)

First Team Defensive Line: George Scott (Niskayuna), Jack Veirs (Ballston Spa), Justin Gray (Burnt Hills) Second Team Defensive Line: Justin Park (Mohonasen), Nate DeLuke (Burnt Hills), Dylan Hoffman (Queensbury)

First Team Defensive End: Elisha Rogers (Mohonasen), Gabe Jacobs (Queensbury) Second Team Defensive End: Connor Havern (Queensbury)

First Team Inside Linebacker: Jack Vitolins (Niskayuna), Tyler Reinke (Mohonasen), Rieley Harris-Burke (Queensbury) Second Team Inside Linebacker: Cole Holestein (Scotia), Tommy Titsworth (Niskayuna)

First Team Outside Linebacker: Aaden Woodward (Niskayuna), Sean Cable (Burnt Hills) Second Team Outside Linebacker: Connor Singsheim (Niskayuna), Gino Lanaro (Mohonasen)

First Team Defensive Back: Kevin Carney (Burnt Hills), Vincent Venditti (Burnt Hills), Erik Gottman (Ballston Spa), Patrick Morehouse (Queensbury) Second Team Defensive Back: Decillus Blankenship (Scotia), Kade Dashnow (Ballston Spa), Lance Hays (Queensbury), Aiden Bleibtrey (Queensbury)

First Team All Purpose: Dan Quinn (Niskayuna) Second Team All Purpose: Trey Bailey (Queensbury)

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local Sports

More Local Sports

Download our news app

App Store Link
Google Play Link

Check the latest closings and delays


Liana Bonavita

Griffin Haas


Jared Phillips

Latest PODCAST episode

More PODCAST: On the Story with Trishna Begam

Latest COVID-19 News

More COVID-19