Eight more states added to the required quarantine list

NY Capitol News
Updated States in Travel Advisory

On June 30 Gov. Cuomo added eight more states to the mandatory quarantine travel advisory.

ALBANY, N.Y. (WSYR-TV) — On Tuesday, New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo added eight more states to the list of those whose travelers coming to New York will be required to quarantine for 14 days. The new states include California and Mississippi. Here is the entire list:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

The travel advisory quarantine applies to any person that arrives from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

“As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening,” Governor Cuomo said. “We’ve set metrics for community spread just as we’ve set metrics for everything the state does to fight COVID-19, and eight more states have reached the level of spread required to qualify for New York’s travel advisory, meaning we will now require individuals traveling to New York from those states to quarantine for 14 days.”

As for the coronavirus numbers in New York State, Cuomo says there were only 13 deaths related to the virus on Monday in the state, and 891 people across the state are hospitalized with COVID-19. On Monday, 52,025 tests were conducted, and 524, or about 1%, of those tests were positive.

Each region’s percentage of positive tests over the last three days is as follows:

New York City1.10%1.00%1.00%
Capital Region0.70%0.50%0.30%
Central New York1.20%0.50%1.40%
Finger Lakes0.70%0.70%1.00%
Long Island0.80%0.70%1.10%
Hudson Valley1.00%0.60%1.00%
Mohawk Valley2.30%2.20%0.90%
North Country0.30%0.40%0.00%
Southern Tier0.30%0.60%0.40%
Western New York0.80%0.80%1.30%

County-by-county Coronavirus Tracker
COVID-19 Resources
More Coronavirus Coverage from News10
Updates from schools on COVID cases


Follow NEWS10

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download our news app

App Store Link
Google Play Link

Set NEWS10.com as your Homepage!


Click Below to set up your cable box

Coronavirus Outbreak

More Coronavirus Outbreak

Classroom Progress Report

More Classroom Progress Report