Four states removed from the Massachusetts travel order’s low-risk list

Massachusetts News

CHICOPEE, Mass. (WWLP) – Colorado, New Jersey, New Mexico and Washington are no longer considered low-risk states on the Massachusetts travel order.

According to the website, the four states were removed from the lower-risk states effective 12:01 a.m. on October 3. Travelers to Massachusetts from any of these four states must fill out a travel form and quarantine for 14 days.

In order to stay on the travel-friendly list, a state must meet two criteria: An average daily cases per 100K below 6, and a positive test rate below 5%.

Back in July, Gov. Charlie Baker implemented a travel ban, and it initially included nearly every state in the U.S. except for those in New England. In order to get off the restricted list, states have to have a positive test rate of 5% or below.

Low-risk states currently are:

  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Vermont

If you are going to Massachusetts after visiting a state, not on the list above, you are required to fill out the state’s travel form, and then quarantine for 14 days, unless you can provide a negative COVID-19 test 72 hours before arriving. Failure to complete the form can result in a $500 fine per day.

County-by-county Coronavirus Tracker
COVID-19 Resources
More Coronavirus Coverage from News10
Updates from schools on COVID cases


Follow NEWS10

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download our news app

App Store Link
Google Play Link

Set as your Homepage!


Click Below to set up your cable box

Coronavirus Outbreak

More Coronavirus Outbreak

Classroom Progress Report

More Classroom Progress Report