Stakes schedule for 2019 Saratoga racing season

Local
saratoga race course_261385

The 2019 meet at historic Saratoga Race Course will feature 76 stakes across 40 racing days, highlighted by the 150th running of the Grade 1, $1.25 million Runhappy Travers and the Grade 1, $1 million Whitney as the anchors of two of the biggest racing days in North America.

The summer meet, which features $20.85 million in total stakes purses, will run from Opening Day on Thursday, July 11 through Labor Day, September 2. After opening weekend, racing will be conducted five days a week, Wednesdays through Sundays.

THE NEW YORK RACING ASSOCIATION 
2019 SARATOGA STAKES SCHEDULE

DATE

RACE

GR.

2019 PURSE ($)

AGE

DISTANCE

WEEK 1

Thurs., July. 11

Schuylerville

III

150,000

F2YO

6 Furlongs

Thurs., July. 11

Quick Call

III

100,000

3YO

5 1/2 (Turf)

Fri., July. 12

Forbidden Apple

III

150,000

4&UP

1 Mile (Turf)

Sat., July. 13

Diana

I

500,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/8 (Turf)

Sat., July. 13

Sanford

III

150,000

2YO

6 Furlongs

Sun., July. 14

Coronation Cup

 

100,000

F3YO

5 1/2 (Turf)

WEEK 2

Wed., July. 17

Rick Violette (NYB)

 

100,000

2YO

6 Furlongs

Thurs., July. 18

Stillwater (NYB)

 

100,000

F2YO

6 Furlongs

Fri., July. 19

Lake George

III

150,000

F3YO

1 Mile (Turf)

Sat., July 20

Coaching Club American Oaks

I

500,000

F3YO

1 1/8

Sat., July. 20

Caress

 

200,000

F&M 4&UP

5 1/2 (Turf)

Sun., July. 21

Shuvee Hdcp.

III

200,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/8

WEEK 3

Wed., July. 24

Honorable Miss (Hdcp.)

II

200,000

F&M 3&UP

6 Furlongs

Wed., July. 24

New York Stallion Series

 

150,000

3YO

1 Mile (Turf)

 

Cab Calloway Division

 

 

 

 

Thurs., July. 25

A. P. Smithwick Mem. (S’Chase)

I

150,000

4&UP

2 1/16 (Turf)

Thurs., July. 25

John Morrissey (NYB)

 

100,000

3&UP

6 1/2 Furlongs

Fri., July. 26

Curlin (NW GSS OVER 1 MILE IN 2019)

 

100,000

3YO

1   1/8

Sat., July. 27

Jim Dandy

II

600,000

3YO

1 1/8

Sat., July. 27

Alfred G. Vanderbilt (Hdcp.)

I

350,000

3&UP

6 Furlongs

Sat., July. 27

Bowling Green

II

250,000

4&UP

1 3/8 (Turf)

Sun., July. 28

Amsterdam

II

200,000

3YO

6 1/2 Furlongs

WEEK 4

Wed., July. 31

New York Stallion Series

 

150,000

F3YO

1 Mile (Turf)

 

Statue Of Liberty Division

 

 

 

 

Wed., July. 31

Shine Again (NW SS other than state bred)

 

100,000

F&M 3&UP

7 Furlongs

Thurs., Aug. 1

Birdstone

 

100,000

3&UP

1 3/4

 

Fasig-Tipton Racing Festival

 

 

 

 

Fri., Aug. 2

Saratoga Oaks

 

750,000

F3YO

1 3/16 (Turf)

 

(Second leg of the Turf Tiara)

 

 

 

 

Fri., Aug. 2

National Museum of Racing Hall Of Fame

II

200,000

3YO

1 Mile (Turf)

Fri., Aug. 2

Alydar (NW SS other than state bred in 2019)

 

100,000

4&UP

1 1/8

Sat., Aug. 3

Whitney (BC)

I

1,000,000

3&UP

1 1/8

Sat., Aug. 3

Longines Test

I

500,000

F3YO

7 Furlongs

Sat., Aug. 3

Fasig-Tipton Lure (NW GSS in 2019)

 

100,000

4&UP

1   1/16 (Turf)

Sat., Aug. 3

Fasig-Tipton De La Rose (NW GSS in 2019)

 

100,000

F&M 4&UP

1 Mile (Turf)

Sat., Aug. 3

Troy

III

200,000

3&UP

5 1/2 (T)

Sun., Aug. 4

Saratoga Derby

 

1,000,000

3YO

1 3/16 (Turf)

 

(Second leg of the Turf Trinity)

 

 

 

 

Sun., Aug. 4

Fasig-Tipton Waya

III

200,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/2 (Turf)

Sun., Aug. 4

Adirondack

II

200,000

F2YO

6 1/2 Furlongs

WEEK 5

Wed., Aug. 7

Evan Shipman (NYB)

 

100,000

3&UP

1 1/8

Wed., Aug. 7

Mahony

 

100,000

3YO

5 1/2 (Turf)

Thurs., Aug. 8

Saratoga Dew (NYB)

 

100,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/8

Fri., Aug. 9

Tale of the Cat (NW GSS in 2019)

 

100,000

3&UP

6 Furlongs

Sat., Aug. 10

Fourstardave (Hdcp.) (BC)

I

500,000

3&UP

1 Mile (Turf)

Sat., Aug. 10

Saratoga Special

II

200,000

2YO

6 1/2 Furlongs

Sun., Aug. 11

Galway

 

100,000

F3YO

5 1/2 (Turf)

WEEK 6

Wed., Aug. 14

Bolton Landing

 

100,000

F2YO

5 1/2 (Turf)

Thurs., Aug. 15

Union Avenue (NYB)

 

100,000

F&M 3&UP

6 1/2 Furlongs

Fri., Aug. 16

Skidmore

 

100,000

2YO

5 1/2 (Turf)

Sat., Aug. 17

Alabama

I

600,000

F3YO

1 1/4

Sat., Aug. 17

Lake Placid

II

200,000

F3YO

1 1/16 (Turf)

Sat., Aug. 17

Smart N Fancy

 

100,000

F&M 3&UP

5 1/2 (Turf)

Sun., Aug. 18

Summer Colony (NW GSS in 2019)

 

100,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/8

WEEK 7

Wed., Aug. 21

John’s Call (NW GSS IN 2019)

 

100,000

3&UP

1 5/8 (Turf)

Thurs., Aug 22

Riskaverse (NW SS at 1 Mile or Over)

 

100,000

F3YO

1 Mile (Turf)

Thurs., Aug 22

New York Turf Writers Cup

I

150,000

4&UP

2 3/8 (Turf)

 

Saratoga New York Breeders’ Showcase Day

 

 

 

 

Fri., Aug. 23

Albany (NYB)

 

250,000

3YO

1 1/8

Fri., Aug. 23

Fleet Indian (NYB)

 

200,000

F3YO

1 1/8

Fri., Aug. 23

Funny Cide (NYB)

 

200,000

2YO

6 1/2 Furlongs

Fri., Aug. 23

Seeking the Ante (NYB)

 

200,000

F2YO

6 1/2 Furlongs

Fri., Aug. 23

West Point (NYB) Presented by Trustco Bank

 

150,000

3&UP

1 1/16 (Turf)

Fri., Aug. 23

Yaddo (NYB)

 

150,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/16 (Turf)

 

Travers Racing Festival

 

 

 

 

Sat., Aug. 24

Runhappy Travers

I

1,250,000

3YO

1 1/4

Sat., Aug. 24

Sword Dancer (BC)

I

850,000

4&UP

1 1/2 (Turf)

Sat., Aug. 24

Personal Ensign (BC)

I

700,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/8

Sat., Aug. 24

Forego

I

600,000

3&UP

7 Furlongs

Sat., Aug. 24

Ketel One Ballerina (BC)

I

500,000

F&M 3&UP

7 Furlongs

Sat., Aug. 24

H. Allen Jerkens Memorial presented by Runhappy

I

500,000

3YO

7 Furlongs

Sat., Aug. 24

Ballston Spa

II

400,000

F&M 3&UP

1 1/16 (Turf)

Sun., Aug. 25

Better Talk Now (NW SS at 1 Mile or Over)

 

100,000

3YO

1 Mile (Turf)

WEEK 8

Wed., Aug. 28

With Anticipation

III

150,000

2YO

1   1/16 (Turf)

Thurs., Aug. 29

P. G. Johnson

 

100,000

F2YO

1   1/16 (Turf)

Fri., Aug. 30

Lucky Coin (NW SS IN 2019)

 

100,000

4&UP

5 1/2 (Turf)

 

Woodward Racing Festival

 

 

 

 

Sat., Aug. 31

The Woodward

I

750,000

3&UP

1 1/8

Sat., Aug. 31

Glens Falls

II

250,000

F&M 3&UP

1 3/8 (Turf)

Sat., Aug. 31

Prioress

II

250,000

F3YO

6 Furlongs

Sat., Aug. 31

Saranac

III

200,000

3YO

1   1/16 (Turf)

Sun., Sept. 1

Spinaway

I

350,000

F2YO

7 Furlongs

Mon., Sept. 2

Runhappy Hopeful

I

350,000

2YO

7 Furlongs

Mon., Sept. 2

Bernard Baruch (Hdcp.)

II

250,000

3&UP

1   1/16 (Turf)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sport Highlights

Local Sports

More Local Sports

Download our news app

App Store Link
Google Play Link
REMARKABLE WOMEN_2022_NOMINATE

Latest PODCAST episode

More PODCAST: On the Story with Trishna Begam
CHECK OUT OUR NEW APP FEATURES

MEET THE NEWS10 SPORTS TEAM

Liana Bonavita

Griffin Haas

GRIFFIN HAAS

Jared Phillips

Latest COVID-19 News

More COVID-19