CLEVELAND (WJW) — The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation formally announced its 2022 inductees Wednesday. The top five artists who dominated the fan vote all made it in this year.

Performer Category:

Musical Excellence Award:

  • Judas Priest
  • Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis

Early Influence Award:

  • Harry Belafonte
  • Elizabeth Cotten

Ahmet Ertegun Award:

  • Allen Grubman
  • Jimmy Iovine
  • Sylvia Robinson

“This diverse group of inductees each had a profound impact on the sound of youth culture and helped change the course of rock & roll,” said John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. “Their music moved generations and influenced so many artists that followed.”

To be eligible, artists are required to have released their first record 25 years prior to induction. This is Eminem’s first year of eligibility. He, Duran Duran, Dolly Parton, Lionel Richie, and Carly Simon were on the ballot for the first time. It’s the first time in the Hall’s 37-year history that six female acts will be inducted at once. 

Of course, Dolly Parton made headlines when she said she didn’t feel she had earned the right to be nominated, then later said she would “accept gracefully” if voted in. The 37 Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony films on Saturday, November 5, at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. The induction ceremony will air at a later date. Ticket information has not yet been released.