National Museum of Racing announces 2014 Hall of Fame finalists - NEWS10 ABC: Albany, New York News, Weather, Sports

National Museum of Racing announces 2014 Hall of Fame finalists


SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y.—Ten finalists were chosen for the National Museum of Racing's 2014 Hall of Fame Ballot.

The Hall of Fame Nominating Committee selected jockeys Chris Antley, Garrett Gomez, Craig Perret and Alex Solis; Thoroughbreds Ashado, Curlin, Kona Gold and Xtra Heat; and trainers Steve Asmussen and Gary Jones.

Curlin, Kona Gold and Asmussen are finalists for the first time. Hall of Fame voters may select as many candidates as they believe are worthy of induction to the Hall of Fame. The four candidates with the highest vote totals will be elected.

The finalists were selected by the Hall of Fame's 16-member Nominating Committee from a total of 84 candidates suggested throughout the year by turf journalists, Thoroughbred industry participants and racing fans.

The results of the voting on contemporary candidates will be announced on Friday, April 25. The induction ceremony will be held at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs on Friday, Aug. 8 at 10:30 a.m. The ceremony is free and open to the public.

Powered by WorldNow

341 Northern Blvd., Albany, NY 12204

Telephone: 518.436.4822
Fax: 518.426.4792

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Albany, Inc. A Media General Company.