Local schools win regional competitions for National Science Bow - NEWS10 ABC: Albany, New York News, Weather, Sports

Local schools win regional competitions for National Science Bowl


WASHINGTON, D.C.—Three teams of students from local schools are among 27 teams who won their regional competitions for the 2014 National Science Bowl.

Teams from Clifton Park, Troy, and Niskayuna are all advancing to the National Finals in Washington, D.C., in April.

The Bowl brings together students from across the country in a fast-paced question and answer format where they solve technical problems and answer questions on a range of science disciplines.

"The National Science Bowl challenges students to excel and heightens their interest in fields vital to America's continued scientific advancement. Congratulations to these students for advancing to the National Finals. I wish them the best of luck in the competition," said Energy Secretary, Ernest Moniz.

The teams advancing to the National Finals are:


                                Desert Vista High School in Phoenix



                                Mira Loma High School in Sacramento

                                Norris Middle School in Bakersfield

                                University Preparatory School in Redding (High School)



                                Fairview High School in Boulder



                                E.O. Smith High School in Storrs



                                Lakeside High School in Evans 



                                Franklin Fine Arts Center in Chicago (Middle School)

                                Next Generation School in Champaign (Middle School)



                                Lone Oak Middle School in Paducah



                                Maine School of Science and Mathematics in Limestone (High School)



                                Takoma Park Middle School in Silver Spring



                                Lexington High School in Lexington



                                Hyde Park Middle School in Las Vegas


                New York:

                                Commack Middle School in Commack

                                Hunter College Middle School in New York City

                                Regis High School in New York City

                                Rensselaer STEP in Troy (High School)

                                Shenendehowa High School in Clifton Park

                                Van Antwerp Middle School in Niskayna


                Puerto Rico:

                                Baldwin School of Puerto Rico in Guaynabo (High School)


                South Carolina:

                                Fort Johnson Middle School in Charleston


                South Dakota:

                                Rapid City Central High School in Rapid City



                                Canyon Vista Middle School in Austin

                                Valle Verde Early College High School in El Paso



                                Longfellow Middle School in Falls Church


                West Virginia:

                                Suncrest Middle School in Morgantown


The top 16 high school teams and top eight middle school teams will win $1,000 for their schools' science departments. Prizes for the top two high school teams for the 2014 National Science Bowl will be announced at a later date.

Powered by WorldNow

341 Northern Blvd., Albany, NY 12204

Telephone: 518.436.4822
Fax: 518.426.4792
Email: news@news10.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Albany, Inc. A Media General Company.