State of Emergency declared in NYS - NEWS10 ABC: Albany, New York News, Weather, Sports

State of Emergency declared in NYS

Posted: Updated: Feb 13, 2014 4:14 PM

ALBANY, N.Y.—Governor Cuomo declared a state of emergency for a number of counties in New York State. 

Under a state of emergency, resources that are normally restricted to State use are used to assist local governments and laws and regulations.

The following counties are under a snow emergency: Albany, Clinton, Cortland, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Washington and Warren Counties.

"These regions are expected to continue to receive heavy snow that may accumulate at rates of around two to three inches per hour, which will make it difficult for plows to keep some roads clear. New Yorkers should stay off of the roads and remain in their homes until the worst of the storm has passed," said Governor Cuomo.

On Thursday morning, Cuomo declared an executive order for the Mid-Hudson, New York City, and Long Island regions. 

Visit DHSES online at:
Visit NY-ALERT online at:

Powered by WorldNow

341 Northern Blvd., Albany, NY 12204

Telephone: 518.436.4822
Fax: 518.426.4792

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Albany, Inc. A Media General Company.