Governor issues disaster declaration for areas hit by flooding - NEWS10 ABC: Albany, New York News, Weather, Sports

Governor issues disaster declaration for areas hit by flooding


Governor Andrew Cuomo has issued a disaster declaration for Broome, Chenango, Clinton, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Tioga, Schoharie, St. Lawrence and Warren counties that have been hit by severe storms and flooding.

Cuomo is scheduled to tour the flooded areas in the Mohawk Valley Friday afternoon and give a briefing at the Montgomery County Incident Command Post in Canajoharie at 3 p.m.

The Governor has activated the New York State Office of Emergency Management to closely monitor the impacted areas and to assist counties with ongoing rescue and recovery efforts.

"The State is taking action to provide immediate assistance and support to counties in the Mohawk River Valley which are experiencing floods," said Governor Cuomo. "I will be closely monitoring the situation and my administration will continue to coordinate with first responders in all of the affected flooded areas. I urge New Yorkers in these areas to monitor news reports and follow directions from emergency personnel on the ground."

New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services Commissioner Jerome M. Hauer said, "With more rain in the forecast, there is a potential for more flooding in more areas in the region. We are asking people to stay alert, listen to emergency instructions and cooperate with local officials if needed."

Local state of emergency declarations:

  • Village of Ilion, Herkimer County
  • Town of Chesterfield, Essex County
  • Town & Village of Middleburgh, Schoharie County
  • Herkimer County
  • Town and Village of Herkimer, Herkimer County
  • Village of Mohawk, Herkimer County
  • Town of Elizabethtown, Essex County
  • Town of Johnsburg, Warren County
  • Village of Sherburne, Chenango County
  • Town of Johnsburgh, Warren County
  • Montgomery County
  • Town of Minden, Montgomery County
  • Town of Whitesboro, Oneida County
  • Town of German Flats, Herkimer County

Governor Cuomo is overseeing state mobilization including:

-- New York State Police deployed a Huey helicopter with divers, and an airboat with dive team, to assist Montgomery and Herkimer counties. State Police personnel from Troops G and D have been mobilized to various upstate county locations, and an Incident Command Post and forward air base has been established at Nelliston Park in Ft. Plain, Montgomery County

-- Department of Environmental Conservation airboats have been placed on standby at Lowville (Jefferson County), Sherburn (Chenango County), Warrenburg (Warren County) and Franklin County

-- Office of Fire Prevention and Control Task Force II and other swift water rescue assets are operating in Herkimer County

-- New York National Guard has deployed high axle cargo vehicles and soldiers to assist Herkimer County in flood response operations

In addition, the American Red Cross has opened a shelter for displaced residents in Herkimer and Oneida counties at the Mohawk Valley Community College, 1101 Sherman Drive in Utica. Other shelters will be opening for displaced residents in Oneida Castle, Taberg and Sylvan Beach at 217 Cedar Street (Oneida Armory) in the City of Oneida, and at the Harry Hoag School at 25 High Street in Fort Plain (Montgomery County).

Powered by WorldNow

341 Northern Blvd., Albany, NY 12204

Telephone: 518.436.4822
Fax: 518.426.4792

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Albany, Inc. A Media General Company.