Nine NY counties no longer collect sales tax on clothing, footwe - NEWS10 ABC: Albany, New York News, Weather, Sports

Nine NY counties no longer collect sales tax on clothing, footwear under $110


ALBANY, NY - Beginning on Sunday, nine counties in New York State will no longer collect local sales tax on clothing and footwear under $110.

The sales tax exemption covers the following counties: Chautauqua, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Hamilton, Madison, Tioga, and Wayne.

The exemption also applies to most fabric, thread, yarn, buttons, hooks, zippers, and similar items used to repair or create clothing.

However not all items qualify for the sales tax exemption. Some items that don't qualify are jewelry, watches, tool belts, hard hats, bicycle and motorcycle helmets.

Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver says, "We must do everything we can to ease the burden on working families. Families are struggling with the choice of paying for food, rent, or clothing. This tax exemption will provide much needed relief to our residents."

A temporary suspension of the state sales tax exemption on clothing and footwear went into effect on October 1, 2011. That suspension is now expiring. The state began to phase out the four percent sales tax on April 1, 2011. Over the last year, sales tax was not collected on items under $55.

Powered by WorldNow

341 Northern Blvd., Albany, NY 12204

Telephone: 518.436.4822
Fax: 518.426.4792

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Albany, Inc. A Media General Company.