Travers Stakes Throughout the Years - NEWS10 ABC: Albany, New York News, Weather, Sports

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. - Saturday is the 144th Running of the Grade, $1 million Travers at the Saratoga Race Course.

This is a signature day for Saratoga's racing season. The country's top 3-year-old thoroughbreds, Kentucky Derby winner Orb, Belmont Stakes winner Palace Malice and Haskell winner Verrazano, will compete.

The winning owner will receive the Man O' War Cup, the Travers trophy, along with many more traditions previous Travers race winners have received. See some of the great Travers races below.

Travers Stakes Throughout the Years

2011: Stay Thirsty

2010: Afleet Express

2009: Summer Bird

2007: Street Sense

2006: Bernardini

2002: Medaglia D'Oro

1995: Thunder Gulch

1989: Easy Goer

1957: Gallant Man

Amazing 6-way finish at Saratoga

August 22, 2009

Secretariat wins the Belmont, 1973

Powered by WorldNow

341 Northern Blvd., Albany, NY 12204

Telephone: 518.436.4822
Fax: 518.426.4792

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Albany, Inc. A Media General Company.